Local governments and community partners join efforts to promote the 2020 census.

The U.S. Census Bureau counts every resident in the United States once every 10 years. Mandated by the U.S. Constitution, the data collected determines the number of seats each state has in the U.S. House of Representatives and provides the basis for distributing more than $675 billion in federal funds annually to support programs in states and local communities.  

With funding support from the Health Forward Foundation and the REACH Healthcare Foundation, the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) is working with community partners across the Kansas City region to ensure a complete and accurate count during the 2020 census.

In March 2019, MARC convened the first meeting of the Kansas City Regional Complete Count Committee, which includes local government officials, community-based organization and business representatives, faith-based leaders, school officials and others.

Over the next year, the committee will work to:

  • Promote the census through locally based, targeted outreach efforts.
  • Coordinate a regional information campaign.
  • Assist local communities in forming their own complete count committees.
  • Engage hard-to-reach populations.
  • Increase digital access to online census forms.

An undercount in 2020 can negatively impact budgets for important programs like Medicaid, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, transportation, education, childcare and affordable housing programs. Undercounting by even 1 percent could cost the Kansas City region more than $48 million each year over the next decade.

Kansas State and Local CCC

Local Government AgencyAddressPoint of ContactPhone Number
State of Kansas120 SW 10th Ave 1st Floor, Topeka, KS 66612Brian McClendon (913) 715-0731
Johnson County Government111 S Cherry St., Suite 3300, Olathe, KS 66061Maury Thompson(913) 367-5506
City of Atchison515 Kansas Ave., Atchison, KS 66002Paul Pregont(913) 667-1716
City of Bonner Springs205 E Second, Bonner Springs, KS 66012Christina Brake(913) 356-6002
City of Edwardsville690 S 4th St., PO Box 13738, Edwardsville, KS 66113Zack Daniel(913) 573-5010
City of Kansas City, Kansas Unified Government701 N 7th St Suite 926, Kansas City, KS 66101David Alvey(913) 727-3036
City of Lansing800 1st Terr., Lansing, KS 66043Tim Vandall(913) 727-3036
City of Lawrence6 E 6th St., PO Box 708, Lawrence, KS 66044Jeff Crick(785) 832-3163
City of Leavenworth100 N 5th St., Leavenworth, KS 66048Paul Kramer
City of Lenexa12350 W 87th Street Pkwy., Lenexa, KS 66215Kyle Glaser(913) 477-7688
City of Overland Park8500 Santa Fe Dr., Overland Park, KS 66212Tim Fitzgibbons(913) 895-6184
City of Spring Hill401 N Madison St., Spring Hill, KS 66083Jim Hendershot(913) 592-3664
City of Shawnee11110 Johnson Dr., Shawnee Mission, KS 66203

Missouri State and Local CCC

Local Government AgencyAddressPoint of ContactPhone Number
State of Missouri – Office of Administration201 W Capitol Ave Room 125, Jefferson City, MO 65101Emily Smith(573) 751-1851
City of East Lynne402 Main St City Hall, East Lynne, MO 64743Melodia Crum(816) 869-3002
City of Gladstone7010 N Holmes St, Gladstone, MO 64118Richard King(816) 436-2200
City of Grain Valley711 S Main St., Grain Valley, MO 64029Jill Shatto(816) 229-6275
City of Grandview1200 Main St., Grandview, MO 64030Valarie Poindexter(816) 316-4812
City of Harrisonville300 E Pearl St., Harrisonville, MO 64701Brian Hasek(816) 380-8958
City of Houston Lake5417 N Adrian Ave., Houston Lake, MO 64151Pam Freese(816) 741-0644
City of Independence111 E Maple Ave., Independence, MO 64050Eileen Weir(816) 325-7000
City of Lake Tapawingo144 Anchor Drive City Hall, Lake Tapawingo, MO 64015Paul Blixrud(816) 229-3722
City of Lee’s Summit220 SE Green St., Lee’s Summit, MO 64063Julie Pryor(816) 969-1010
City of LevasyCity Hall PO Box 68 103 Pacific, Levasy, MO 64066Kelli Lewis(816) 650-3522
City of Missouri CityCity Hall PO Box 264, Missouri City, MO 64072Monty Railey(816) 750-4481
City of Oakwood Village6001 NE Poplar Dr., Oakwood, MO 64118Pamela Wormsley(816) 453-6734
City of Oak Grove1300 S Broadway, Oak Grove, MO 64075Jeremy Martin(816) 679-2106
City of Platte City400 Main St., Platte City, MO 64079Jason Metten(816) 858-3046
City of Platte Woods6750 NW Tower Dr., Platte Woods, MO 64151Kimberly Mensch(816) 741-6688
City of Pleasant Valley6500 Royal, Pleasant Valley, MO 64068Debbie Crossley(816) 781-3996
City of Raymore100 N Municipal Cir., Raymore, MO 64083Erica Hill(816) 892-3012
City of Raytown10000 E 59th St., Raytown, MO 64133Mike Mcdonough(816) 737-6000
City of Richmond205 Summit St., Richmond, MO 64085Lance Green(816) 776-5304
City of Riverside2950 NW Vivion Rd., Riverside, MO 64150Michael Duffy(816) 741-3993
City of Smithville107 W Main St., Smithville, MO 64089Gerry Vernon(816) 532-3897
City of Tracy208 2nd St., Platte City, MO 64079Rita Rhoads(816) 858-5555
City of Weatherby Lake7200 Northwest Eastside Dr., Weatherby Lake, MO 64152Marvin Postma(816) 741-3419